Top Home Warranty Companies

Company Name Average Rating Plan Fee Call Fee
1. Allied Home Warranty
5.79
395
60
Rate it!
2. ORA Home Warranty
4.59
430
50
Rate it!
3. Blue Ribbon Home Warranty
4.42
300
55
Rate it!
4. Globe Home Warranty
4.22
379
55
Rate it!
5. Warrantech Home Protection
4.13
425
65
Rate it!
6. Liberty Home Protection
4.09
429
75
Rate it!
7. Warranty Global Group
4.08
415
75
Rate it!
8. BFS Home Warranty
3.69
422
55
Rate it!
9. Universal Home Protection
3.5
425
85
Rate it!
10. Home Warranty of America (HWA)
3.31
488
60
Rate it!

Recent Reviews

Company: American Home Shield (AHS)
Reviewer: BURT
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-10-23
5
5
5
1

After being a customer for 22 years…they sent us a letter not to renew our policy.

THAT IS WHAT YOU CALL CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!

Company: Allied Home Warranty
Reviewer: will
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-10-22
10
10
10
10

Been with this company a few years. Thick-skinned with the bad, but compassionate with the good.

Company: American Home Shield (AHS)
Reviewer: j taufique
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-09-12
1
1
1
1

They will increase your rate without your acknowledgement

Company: Choice Home Warranty
Reviewer: Richard
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-09-11
1
9
1
1

I paid extra to have coverage on my stand alone spa, & when it stopped working I called & was told it's not covered (which it was), to which I asked why are you still charging me for the spa coverage & the next month, they dropped the spa coverage. When my refrigerater was leaking water on the inside, the techincan looked at it & said they couldn't fix it & sent me a check for $175.00 for me to fix it. When I tried to get my water heater replaced, they again said no. The serviced techs are at the house the day after I call, but it all is in vain, because after they call Choice Home Warrantry for authorization, it is always NO, so now I am shopping around for a home warrantry protection plan that really does what it says it will do.

Company: First American Home Warranty
Reviewer: Guy
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-09-05
1
1
5
1

We've had them for 8 years. Communication and follow-up is really bad, and most of the Contractors they use are also difficult to communicate with. Often times the technician is new to his job. About 1/2 of the time, the job can not be completed on the first trip due to a lack of ability, not equipment on hand.

Company: American Home Shield (AHS)
Reviewer: Bryan
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-08-22
1
1
1
1

Our AC went out in July, it was 100+ outside. One of our two compressors stopped working. Called AHS and they said they would have a contractor call in a few days. Not acceptable when it's 100 degrees out. Paid $450 out of pocket to private AC company to repair, and will not renew AHS warranty.

Company: Allied Home Warranty
Reviewer: Alfred
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-07-06
10
10
10
10

We had the Allied warranty plan covering our pool. Our heater went out and we made the call to Allied Home Warranty. They sent the pool repair man immediately and he replaced a part in the electrical panel and the blower as they were out of service. The pool repair man mentioned that the blower could not be fixed and that a new blower should has to be installed. They provided immediate replacement and quoted me a very less amount when compared to what I was expecting.. Much of the replacement amount was handled by them. After which I did not face any problem with my pool. Their service was the best. If needing a home warranty plan, I recommend Allied Home Warranty. We got the usual coverage and added the pool option which allowed us to customize the coverage to suit our needs – love this! When we get an ice maker we’ll be adding that on too!

Company: Allied Home Warranty
Reviewer: Patti
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-05-03
10
10
10
10

This company is far above other warranty companies we have worked with. Very accommodating and efficient.

Company: Choice Home Warranty
Reviewer: Roni Gonzalez
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-04-02
1
1
1
1

They never cover anything. always an excuse or an exclusion. Biggest waste of money

BEWARE

Company: American Home Shield (AHS)
Reviewer: gr
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2011-08-21
2
1
4
2

take days to respond with no way to expedite

More Reviews – Ordered by Date